Brookings Summer Arts Festival July 12 & 13, 2014
Brookings Summer Arts Festival Home About Us Visit Participate Upcoming Festivals
Brookings Summer Arts Festival
Award Winner
Festival Map
Shuttle Service
Contact Us

Admission is FREE!


The BSAF Awards Committee selects three artists annually to honor. Two receive an Award of Excellence and one the Media Award. At the start of each year’s festival, the committee gathers together to canvas the festival vendors to select these recipients.

The Awards Committee bestows two Award of Excellence ribbons to two artisans who show outstanding skill in his or her chosen media. These awards are based on overall quality of the artist’s work, and not on a particular piece. Criteria to judge work is based on originality, craftsmanship and skillful use of materials. The winners must create all of their work.

The third award and ribbon is the Media Award. The Awards Committee chooses one piece of work from an artist the group feels best represents the spirit of the festival. The committee searches for a piece that is an original or “one-of-a-kind”.

The selected artist will be asked for permission to use the artwork to create the next year’s BSAF logo. The Awards, Publicity, and Tee Shirt Committees create a flat art logo to be used on promotional materials such as tee-shirts, flags and banners. The artwork will also be on posters, programs, and newspaper and TV advertising distributed in a four state area. If the committee choose to purchase the artwork, it will possibly be donated to a Brookings community charitable art auction after its use.

2016 Award Winners

Media Award Winner - Eddie Hesalroad
Eddie Hesalroad, The  Olde Glass Factory,   Greene, IA  

See photo

Award of Exellence - Byron Addison Wells
Byron Addison Wells - Water Colors by Byron Addison Wells,  Mound, MN

See photo

Award of Excellence - Ron Netten
Ron Netten - Ron Netten Ceramics, Storm Lake, IA

See photo


Web Site by MAS Media